Breast Pump Reviews

From LLL in VA/WV References

Trying to decide on a breast pump? Here are some opinions from real moms in the LLLI Online Breastfeeding Support Communities.

Some of the comments have been edited for clarity and nitpicky grammatical details.


Breast Pump Overview

For an excellent, detailed overview of breast pumps, check out Choosing a Breastpump by Robyn Roche-Paull, IBCLC at Breastfeeding in Combat Boots. While it has some information that only applies to moms in the military, most of it is useful to anyone who is looking for a pump.

Ameda

Ameda Purely Yours

The Ameda Purely Yours is a personal-use, closed-system, double electric pump.

Ameda Purely Yours vs Medela Lactina
mommal:
I used the Ameda Purely Yours in addition to nursing as a way to increase supply when I was having trouble nursing my newborn. The APY really wasn't a good pump in my particular situation. I got dramatically better results when I switched to a Medela Lactina hospital-grade pump. The Lactina was more comfortable and much more powerful. (Apr 2016)
Ameda Purely Yours vs Medela Pump-in-Style
etoile:

I used an Ameda Purely Yours for my first baby and found that I was struggling to pump enough for my baby while at work so I had to add extra sessions at home and on the weekend even after troubleshooting new parts, etc. I made it to a year and beyond breastfeeding my daughter despite having to pump extra!

After a frustrating experience with the Ameda, I got a Medela Pump In Style for baby #2.. I love it! I have a ton of extra milk in the freezer because I have been able to get a good deal more milk in less time while at work and I don't have to pump at home. I can really tell a difference in suction. I am happy to know that I have a lot of extra milk so my son can have breastmilk while I am at work even after I pump wean over the summer when he turns 1. (Apr 2016)

djs.mom:
Ameda Purely Yours. I liked it. It was cheaper than the Medela, and all the parts were replaceable and easily available for replacement on their site. (Apr 2016)
Rebecca:
I personally love my Ameda Purely Yours. It's not big, and the way the suction works there's no moisture in the tubes, so no needing to clean them! My only wish is that it was quieter, but it's not loud. I like it better than the Medelas I have used. It can be used one-sided or two very easily, has variable suction and variable speed, and has two spots to set the bottles in when you're not pumping. (Jan 2016)
Melody:

I got the Medela pump the first time. And this time I got the Ameda. Both free through my insurance. I like the Ameda better because I can change the speed and the strength of the pumping to get a more personalized rhythm.

Also, on the Medela pump the flange is separate from the piece that holds the bottle and valves. So when the bottle got full or when I adjusted the pumping bra the bottle end can pop off spilling all the milk. (Jan 2016)

Ameda Purely Yours vs Hygeia Enjoye
filmmommy:

I have used an Ameda Purely Yours, Medela Pump In Style and a Hygeia Enjoye. Here are my thoughts:

Ameda Purely Yours and Pump In Style are the easiest of the three to figure out. Ameda replacement parts are harder to find. I usually have to order them. Medela I can purchase at the local medical supply store. Occasionally I've found parts for both in Target or Babies R Us type of places. Ameda occasionally had some weirdness. Sometimes the diaphragms won't inflate properly. I think it's a good pump, but if you're talking nonstop use AND you have other choices, I guess it is not my favorite anymore -- although I was fine with it working full-time with my first child.

I've come to love my Hygeia after not liking it for a while. I would say it's my favorite now, but not sure if would have been best for me to start with. But I used it after the other two, and it definitely took the most getting used to. And I had to use my Medela pump parts to make it work well for me.

I haven't really used customer service for any of the pumps, although Hygeia took a ridiculously long time to send me the pump I PAID for and were not very apologetic about it. I ordered it before starting work and it was over a week or so of being back to work when I got it. Luckily I had the backup (something I recommend if you are working full-time and can afford a spare).

The Hygeia has a bonus of being supposedly reusable -- if you send it in for maintenance you can resell it or give it so someone else. Or at worst, they'll take it an recycle it. Now that so many folks get a free pump, selling won't be as easy, but I paid for mine because I wanted something more reliable than the Ameda I got from my insurance (only option with my insurance). And I wanted to keep a spare pump, so am using the Ameda as that one, including using it for pumping in the car. It is actually great for that purpose! (May 2015)

Freemie

Freemie Freedom

The Freemie Freedom is a hands-free double electric pump.

Christie:

I have a little experience with the Freemies. The good: they did stay in place well just inside my bra so it was very discreet. They are very easy to disconnect from the pump quickly without having to take the cups out so you can stop and start if there will be interruptions. I also found them to make it easy and comfy to pump in the car while I was driving (had a conference that required driving a long way in rush hour).


The not-so-good: I usually do hands on pumping and the Freemies don't give you as much access to do that. I don't think I got quite as much out. My personal experience was that I would recommend them for times pumping otherwise wouldn't happen (in the car or need to be discreet or might be interrupted) but overall think there is a reason they haven't totally taken over the market. (May 2015)
Freemie Freedom vs Spectra 9 Plus
Betsy:
I have and use both [the Freemie and Spectra 9 Plus]! I prefer Freemie because it works great and you don't need to put on a special bra to make it hands free. However, you have to plug it into an outlet. Spectra is still good (you just need the bra) and is battery powered so you can take it with you. (Feb 2016)

Hygeia

Hygeia Enjoye

The Hygeia Enjoye is personal-use, closed-system, double electric pump.

Sara:
I have a Hygeia. It's the only electric breast pump I've used so I can't compare it to others, but I like it. I choose it because it's closed system (Medela is open system so there is potential for milk to get into the pump and cause mold) and because they're WHO code compliant. (Aug 2015)
Hygeia Enjoye vs Ameda Purely Yours/Medela Pump-in-Style
filmmommy:

I have used an Ameda Purely Yours, Medela Pump In Style and a Hygeia Enjoye. Here are my thoughts:

Ameda Purely Yours and Pump In Style are the easiest of the three to figure out. Ameda replacement parts are harder to find. I usually have to order them. Medela I can purchase at the local medical supply store. Occasionally I've found parts for both in Target or Babies R Us type of places. Ameda occasionally had some weirdness. Sometimes the diaphragms won't inflate properly. I think it's a good pump, but if you're talking nonstop use AND you have other choices, I guess it is not my favorite anymore -- although I was fine with it working full-time with my first child.

I've come to love my Hygeia after not liking it for a while. I would say it's my favorite now, but not sure if would have been best for me to start with. But I used it after the other two, and it definitely took the most getting used to. And I had to use my Medela pump parts to make it work well for me.

I haven't really used customer service for any of the pumps, although Hygeia took a ridiculously long time to send me the pump I PAID for and were not very apologetic about it. I ordered it before starting work and it was over a week or so of being back to work when I got it. Luckily I had the backup (something I recommend if you are working full-time and can afford a spare).

The Hygeia has a bonus of being supposedly reusable -- if you send it in for maintenance you can resell it or give it so someone else. Or at worst, they'll take it an recycle it. Now that so many folks get a free pump, selling won't be as easy, but I paid for mine because I wanted something more reliable than the Ameda I got from my insurance (only option with my insurance). And I wanted to keep a spare pump, so am using the Ameda as that one, including using it for pumping in the car. It is actually great for that purpose!

(May 2015)

Medela

Pump-in-Style

The Medela Pump-in-Style Advanced is a personal-use, open-system, double electric pump.

Theresa:
I had a Medela PISA (electric double pump) for pumping when I returned to work. It worked well....Medela replacement parts are pretty easy to find, even on Amazon, and Maymom makes a complete Medela parts replacement set for much less (on Amazon). (Jan 2016)
Sarah:
I have the Medela pump I like it and I haven't had any problems with it other than the breast shield was too big for me so I had to special order a smaller size. I also recommend buying extra parts for whichever pump you decide to get. (Jan 2016)
Tricia:
I'm not a big fan of Medela pumps because they are an open system, where milk could potentially get into the pump motor where it can't be cleaned. A closed-system pump has a barrier to prevent backflow of milk into the tubing and motor. (Jan 2016)

Pump-in-Style vs Ameda Purely Yours

etoile:

I used an Ameda Purely Yours for my first baby and found that I was struggling to pump enough for my baby while at work so I had to add extra sessions at home and on the weekend even after troubleshooting new parts, etc. I made it to a year and beyond breastfeeding my daughter despite having to pump extra!

After a frustrating experience with the Ameda, I got a Medela Pump In Style for baby #2.. I love it! I have a ton of extra milk in the freezer because I have been able to get a good deal more milk in less time while at work and I don't have to pump at home. I can really tell a difference in suction. I am happy to know that I have a lot of extra milk so my son can have breastmilk while I am at work even after I pump wean over the summer when he turns 1. (Apr 2016)

djs.mom:
Ameda Purely Yours. I liked it. It was cheaper than the Medela, and all the parts were replaceable and easily available for replacement on their site. (Apr 2016)
Rebecca:
I personally love my Ameda Purely Yours. It's not big, and the way the suction works there's no moisture in the tubes, so no needing to clean them! My only wish is that it was quieter, but it's not loud. I like it better than the Medelas I have used. It can be used one-sided or two very easily, has variable suction and variable speed, and has two spots to set the bottles in when you're not pumping. (Jan 2016)
Melody:

I got the Medela pump the first time. And this time I got the Ameda. Both free through my insurance. I like the Ameda better because I can change the speed and the strength of the pumping to get a more personalized rhythm.

Also, on the Medela pump the flange is separate from the piece that holds the bottle and valves. So when the bottle got full or when I adjusted the pumping bra the bottle end can pop off spilling all the milk. (Jan 2016)

Pump-in-Style vs Hygeia Enjoye

filmmommy:

I have used an Ameda Purely Yours, Medela Pump In Style and a Hygeia Enjoye. Here are my thoughts:

Ameda Purely Yours and Pump In Style are the easiest of the three to figure out. Ameda replacement parts are harder to find. I usually have to order them. Medela I can purchase at the local medical supply store. Occasionally I've found parts for both in Target or Babies R Us type of places. Ameda occasionally had some weirdness. Sometimes the diaphragms won't inflate properly. I think it's a good pump, but if you're talking nonstop use AND you have other choices, I guess it is not my favorite anymore -- although I was fine with it working full-time with my first child.

I've come to love my Hygeia after not liking it for a while. I would say it's my favorite now, but not sure if would have been best for me to start with. But I used it after the other two, and it definitely took the most getting used to. And I had to use my Medela pump parts to make it work well for me.

I haven't really used customer service for any of the pumps, although Hygeia took a ridiculously long time to send me the pump I PAID for and were not very apologetic about it. I ordered it before starting work and it was over a week or so of being back to work when I got it. Luckily I had the backup (something I recommend if you are working full-time and can afford a spare).

The Hygeia has a bonus of being supposedly reusable -- if you send it in for maintenance you can resell it or give it so someone else. Or at worst, they'll take it an recycle it. Now that so many folks get a free pump, selling won't be as easy, but I paid for mine because I wanted something more reliable than the Ameda I got from my insurance (only option with my insurance). And I wanted to keep a spare pump, so am using the Ameda as that one, including using it for pumping in the car. It is actually great for that purpose! (May 2015)

Pump-in-Style vs Lansinoh Smartpump

Brittany:
I like my Medela and Spectra. HATED my Lansinoh. If you'll be pumping a lot (like going back to work) I would recommend the Medela or the Spectra. Those are the best options, in my opinion. (Aug 2017)

Pump-in-Style vs Medela Freestyle

Debbie:
The Freestyle did little for me. My Freestyle almost felt like it had a mood of its own, sometimes the suction was too strong, sometimes, none. I use the PISA mostly now and have shelved my Freestyle. (Nov 2017)
Tamisha:
I have both the Medela Freestyle and the Pump-in-Style. I like both of them. According to my local breastfeeding consultant the Pump-in-Style is better at keeping and maintaining your supply. For me I get more with the Pump-in-Style, it's more powerful and mimics the hospital grade pump I had rented. (Feb 2017)
Jessica:
I would highly recommend [the Pump-in-Style] over the Freestyle. I had to borrow the Freestyle from a friend one day when I forgot my pump parts at home, and it was loud and less effective. I wouldn't have thought there would be that big of a difference, but even my coworker in the next office knew I was using a different pump because she could hear it! (Feb 2017)

Pump-in-Style vs Spectra S1/S2

Claire:
Love my Spectra S2. Much more efficient for me than PISA was. They have adapters for both the flanges and Medela bottles. Right now I’m using the bottle adapters. So you can use Medela parts...with an adapter. They are very inexpensive to get...much less than buying all new Spectra parts. (Nov 2017)
Alleah:
I used both and with buying adapter parts from Amazon, was able to use all of my PISA parts with the Spectra. Pros of Spectra are: rechargeable, much quieter, more adjustable, and for me, just more comfortable in general. The only con for me was that the Spectra didn’t come with a bag and I had a difficult time finding something that was as convenient as the PISA to carry and store supplies. (Nov 2017)
Ashleigh:
I have personally tried: Lansinoh Double Electric, Evenflo, Medela Symphony, Medela Pump-in-Style Advanced, and the Spectra. My favorite is the Spectra hands down! It feels more like natural breastfeeding with the vibration to suction. I also respond to it better. (Jan 2018)

Rachael:

I...used...Medela with my first 2, and the Spectra 2 with my newest, almost 1 month old.

I liked my Medela, but stick to hospital grade to avoid contamination issues. I hated some of the parts on the Medela and sometimes it was loud and heavy. However, replacement parts were easy to come by.

Now I have the Spectra 2 and LOVE it! It doesn't look like it would be heavy-duty, it's light-weight and small, but it is really great. It has a "memory" that keeps your preferred settings. So once you let down, it will goes into "milk mode". No trying to remember settings. I prefer it over my Medela any day. However, I can't just run down to Walmart and get parts.

The upside, the parts are better than the Medela, so breaking or loosing is not as much of an issue. And who doesn't shop online these days anyway, right?

I got mine free through insurance. Spend the the money you would have on a cute bag, the Spectra doesn't come with one (and hey, you get to choose your own), and extra pump sets so you're not stressing about washing (@$40). Especially if you are going back to work soon after having baby. (Jan 2016)
I've used both Medela and currently have a Spectra S2. Honestly, I wish I could merge them.

The Spectra is stronger and saves settings but...mine doesn't have a car adapter and the bottle holder is USELESS. The electrical cords are shorter too and it doesn't come with a bag. Parts must be ordered off line vs just going down to Walmart. But again, it works better and is quiet.

So...if you primarily use your vehicle to pump, not a good choice. Otherwise, this is what I'm finding, I'm using the hack (find some examples on youtube) so I can use Medela accessories when I need/want them. (Medela extra parts are also cheaper).

Second, the Medela bottle holder is great and they also have a bottle adapter so you can use both wide and narrow neck bottles.

If you have the opportunity to rent/borrow both and try them, I'd do it. It will be worth the time and money. (Feb 2016)

Freestyle

The Medela Freestyle is a personal-use, open-system, double electric pump.

Amanda:
Medela Freestyle is amazing!! I can get like 15-20 ten minute pumping sessions with one charge. My son wasn't getting the idea of latching, so I was pumping exclusively every 2 hours for the first week after I got home until I met with the public health nurse. My supply is awesome now and I really think it would have declined rapidly had this pump not been as good as it is! (Feb 2017)
Sasha:
I love my Freestyle! I am still nursing at 15.5 mo and we EBFed so I think it did a good job maintaining supply. It has its quirks, like you need to make sure the membranes are connected securely, but you can always call Medela and they will help you trouble shoot. (Feb 2017)
Michelle:
I have the Medela Freestyle. I use it 4-5 times a day and I love it. I really love how portable it is. (Jan 2016)

Freestyle vs Medela Pump-in-Style

Debbie:
The Freestyle did little for me. My Freestyle almost felt like it had a mood of its own, sometimes the suction was too strong, sometimes, none. I use the PISA mostly now and have shelved my Freestyle. (Nov 2017)
Tamisha:
I have both the Medela Freestyle and the Pump-in-Style. I like both of them. According to my local breastfeeding consultant the Pump-in-Style is better at keeping and maintaining your supply. For me I get more with the Pump-in-Style, it's more powerful and mimics the hospital grade pump I had rented. (Feb 2017)
Jessica:
I would highly recommend [the Pump-in-Style] over the Freestyle. I had to borrow the Freestyle from a friend one day when I forgot my pump parts at home, and it was loud and less effective. I wouldn't have thought there would be that big of a difference, but even my coworker in the next office knew I was using a different pump because she could hear it! (Feb 2017)

Harmony

The Medela Harmony is a single manual pump intended for occasional use.

Elizabeth:
Up to the point that I tried a Spectra pump, I preferred the manual Medela Harmony. It didn't hurt as much as the electric pumps I tried. It costs a little more than other manual pumps, but you can change out the flange to the size you need. (Dec 2017)
Theresa:
....I also got a Medela Harmony (manual one side) for emergencies after E went on a 24 hour nursing strike while we went on vacation over the summer (small, easy to pack, better than hand expressing... But you need a good rhythm). Medela replacement parts are pretty easy to find, even on Amazon, and Maymom makes a complete Medela parts replacement set for much less (on Amazon). (Jan 2016)
Stephanie:
The Medela Harmony handheld is comfortable, with very little effort. I absolutely love it, and it works very fast for me. And its two "modes" work well, one to stimulate letdown and one after letdown has occurred. (Oct 2015)

Lactina

The Medela Lactina is hospital-grade pump—usually a rental—that's typically used to increase and maintain milk supply when a baby is unable to feed at the breast.

Lactina vs Ameda Purely Yours

mommal:
I used the Ameda Purely Yours in addition to nursing as a way to increase supply when I was having trouble nursing my newborn. The APY really wasn't a good pump in my particular situation. I got dramatically better results when I switched to a Medela Lactina hospital-grade pump. The Lactina was more comfortable and much more powerful. (Apr 2016)

Symphony

The Medela Symphony is hospital-grade pump—usually a rental—that's typically used to increase and maintain milk supply when a baby is unable to feed at the breast.

Symphony vs Spectra S1/S2

Kathryn:
I pumped with the Medela Symphony for the first two months when I was on maternity leave then switched to the [Spectra] S2 when I went back to work. I actually prefer the [Spectra] S2 and responded better to it / got more milk in less time. (Nov 2017)
Penny:
I used to donate milk so I pumped often. I have tried the [Spectra] S2, PISA, and Symphony. Honestly my Symphony was the go-to, but it's also very pricey. The Medela and Spectra are very different in the way they suction. The Spectra is gentle and more of a vibration and the Medela does more of a pulling/tugging in my opinion. I was pretty far into my journey before I tried the Spectra and I think if my body was not used to the tugging/pulling sensation I would have liked the Spectra more, but for me it just didn't empty as well. I also recommend the hack for the Spectra so you can use Medela pump parts. I also really enjoyed my Pumpin' Pal flanges, and some women claim they help empty you better, but for me I didn't notice a difference, but they did make pumping more comfortable. A lot of fellow donor moms rave on the Spectra S2 and highly recommend it. (Nov 2017)

Spectra

Spectra S1/S2

The Spectra S1 and Spectra S2 are personal-use, closed-system, double electric pumps. The S1 has a rechargeable battery pack.

Spectra S1 vs Spectra S2
Kelli:
I think the only difference [between the Spectra S1 and S2] is the S1 has a battery pack. Not something I needed so the S2 worked wonderfully for me. (Feb 2017)
Abbey:
I paid for the upgrade [from the Spectra S2 to the S1] and I'm happy I did. I use the pump mostly in the car so the battery is a huge plus for me.(Feb 2017)
Jackilyn:
I paid to upgrade [from the Spectra S2 to the S1] and I'm so glad that I did. I'm a SAHM so I didn't necessarily need the rechargeable battery but it is so convenient to pump on the go during trips and to pump hands free while I'm getting my oldest ready for school or cleaning up. (Feb 2017)
S1/S2 vs Spectra 9 Plus
Chelsea:
Spectra 9 Plus is amazing. It’s very small and portable has a rechargeable battery. Quiet and I loved it so much more than my [Spectra] S2 that I actually just sold my S2. I’ve been using it for 7 months now with no complaints whatsoever. (Nov 2017)
S1/S2 vs Ameda Purely Yours
Savannah:
I actually have a Spectra and LOVE it! I have multiple letdowns and pumping on the [Ameda Purely Yours] pump insurance got me took almost an hour sometimes. [With the Spectra,] max time is 20 minutes and my production doubled! It has a night light feature which I've found super convenient, massage to encourage letdowns and digital control for speed and vacuum. Can't compare with Medela though since haven't used that. One thing negative is bottles only have 1/2 turn before detached from flanges. (Jan 2016)
S1/S2 vs Lansinoh Smartpump
Brittany:
I like my Medela and Spectra. HATED my Lansinoh. If you'll be pumping a lot (like going back to work) I would recommend the Medela or the Spectra. Those are the best options, in my opinion. (Aug 2017)
S1/S2 vs Medela Pump-in-Style
Claire:
Love my Spectra S2. Much more efficient for me than PISA was. They have adapters for both the flanges and Medela bottles. Right now I’m using the bottle adapters. So you can use Medela parts...with an adapter. They are very inexpensive to get...much less than buying all new Spectra parts. (Jan 2018)
Ashleigh:
I have personally tried: Lansinoh Double Electric, Evenflo, Medela Symphony, Medela Pump-in-Style Advanced, and the Spectra. My favorite is the Spectra hands down! It feels more like natural breastfeeding with the vibration to suction. I also respond to it better. (Jan 2018)
Alleah:
I used both and with buying adapter parts from Amazon, was able to use all of my PISA parts with the Spectra. Pros of Spectra are: rechargeable, much quieter, more adjustable, and for me, just more comfortable in general. The only con for me was that the Spectra didn’t come with a bag and I had a difficult time finding something that was as convenient as the PISA to carry and store supplies. (Nov 2017)
Michelle:
I had Medela PISA with my first child and have the Spectra S1 this time around. Spectra is way better, more gentle, quieter, and I get better output this time with the adjustable settings. I can still use some Medela parts that I already have with a couple adapter pieces. Only drawback I see for the Spectra is that official Spectra parts are harder to get (have to get them online) and the pump is bigger than the Medela PISA. Plenty of aftermarket parts for Spectra, though. (Aug 2017)
Patricia:
I love my Spectra. I was a little nervous when I picked it too because everyone is Medela crazy! Even the nurses in the NICU talked trash on my pump because they thought theirs were the best, not the case! I got way more milk with the Spectra and it was easier to clean/maintain. I love it! Oh, and the night light on it! (Aug 2017)
Jackilyn:
I used the Medela Pump in Style with my first two but I'm using the Spectra S1 now. I like the Spectra so much more! It is quieter and I get more milk in less time. I highly recommend it! (Feb 2017)
Kelli:
The Spectra S2 was much more effective than the Medela for me, it has a very different suction pattern. It's also a closed system. (Feb 2017)
Josie:
I have the Spectra S2 model and I've never needed it for an 8 hour road trip. But I do take it off the charger often to use it. I've never tested how long it can be used before it needs to charge again. BUT I got the Medela Pump in Style covered by insurance and didn't like it as much at all. I find [the S2] easier to clean and the suction is better. The hoses don't get condensation etc. It's easy to carry around and charge. (Feb 2017)
Mechelle:
I had both [Medela and Spectra] and the Spectra worked better for me. I couldn't get enough milk with the Medela unless I used the hospital grade. When I used the Spectra I always had enough milk for the next day. (Feb 2016)
Emily:
The Spectra is definitely quieter [than a Medela PISA] if that makes a difference to you. (Feb 2016)
Rachael:

I've used both Medela and currently have a Spectra S2. Honestly, I wish I could merge them.

The Spectra is stronger and saves settings but...mine doesn't have a car adapter and the bottle holder is USELESS. The electrical cords are shorter too and it doesn't come with a bag. Parts must be ordered off line vs just going down to Walmart. But again, it works better and is quiet.

So...if you primarily use your vehicle to pump, not a good choice. Otherwise, this is what I'm finding, I'm using the hack (find some examples on youtube) so I can use Medela accessories when I need/want them. (Medela extra parts are also cheaper).

Second, the Medela bottle holder is great and they also have a bottle adapter so you can use both wide and narrow neck bottles.

If you have the opportunity to rent/borrow both and try them, I'd do it. It will be worth the time and money. (Feb 2016)
Erin:
I had a Medela with my first and liked it! This time I did tons of research and decided to go with the Spectra and it is AMAZING! The Spectra is so much more comfortable, easy to use, and much faster! (Jan 2016)
Rachael:

I...used...Medela with my first 2, and the Spectra 2 with my newest, almost 1 month old.

I liked my Medela, but stick to hospital grade to avoid contamination issues. I hated some of the parts on the Medela and sometimes it was loud and heavy. However, replacement parts were easy to come by.

Now I have the Spectra 2 and LOVE it! It doesn't look like it would be heavy-duty, it's light-weight and small, but it is really great. It has a "memory" that keeps your preferred settings. So once you let down, it will goes into "milk mode". No trying to remember settings. I prefer it over my Medela any day. However, I can't just run down to Walmart and get parts.

The upside, the parts are better than the Medela, so breaking or loosing is not as much of an issue. And who doesn't shop online these days anyway, right?

I got mine free through insurance. Spend the the money you would have on a cute bag, the Spectra doesn't come with one (and hey, you get to choose your own), and extra pump sets so you're not stressing about washing (@$40). Especially if you are going back to work soon after having baby.

(Jan 2016)
S1/S2 vs Medela Symphony
Kathryn:
I pumped with the Medela Symphony for the first two months when I was on maternity leave then switched to the [Spectra] S2 when I went back to work. I actually prefer the [Spectra] S2 and responded better to it / got more milk in less time. (Nov 2017)
Penny:
I used to donate milk so I pumped often. I have tried the [Spectra] S2, PISA, and Symphony. Honestly my Symphony was the go-to, but it's also very pricey. The Medela and Spectra are very different in the way they suction. The Spectra is gentle and more of a vibration and the Medela does more of a pulling/tugging in my opinion. I was pretty far into my journey before I tried the Spectra and I think if my body was not used to the tugging/pulling sensation I would have liked the Spectra more, but for me it just didn't empty as well. I also recommend the hack for the Spectra so you can use Medela pump parts. I also really enjoyed my Pumpin' Pal flanges, and some women claim they help empty you better, but for me I didn't notice a difference, but they did make pumping more comfortable. A lot of fellow donor moms rave on the Spectra S2 and highly recommend it. (Nov 2017)

Spectra 9 Plus

The Spectra 9 Plus is a hands-free, closed-system double electric pump.

Spectra 9 Plus vs Spectra S1/S2
Chelsea:
Spectra 9 Plus is amazing. It’s very small and portable has a rechargeable battery. Quiet and I loved it so much more than my [Spectra] S2 that I actually just sold my S2. I’ve been using it for 7 months now with no complaints whatsoever. (Nov 2017)
Spectra 9 Plus vs Freemie Freedom
Betsy:
I have and use both [the Freemie and Spectra 9 Plus]! I prefer Freemie because it works great and you don't need to put on a special bra to make it hands free. However, you have to plug it into an outlet. Spectra is still good (you just need the bra) and is battery powered so you can take it with you. (Feb 2016)